SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA RAPID TRANSIT DISTRICT

300 Lakeside Drive, P.O. Box 12688, Oakland, CA 94604-2688

Transit Security Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes Tuesday, January 22, 2019

A regular meeting of the Transit Security Advisory Committee (TSAC) was held January 22, 2019 convening at 10:07 a.m. in the BART Board Room, 2040 Webster Street, Oakland, California. The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Janet Abelson; May Cooper, Recording Secretary.

Members Present: Members Janet Abelson, Crystal Raine, Sue Kuipers, Christopher Finn and Armando Sandoval.

Absent: Jessie Jones

1. Call to Order.

The regular meeting was called to order at 10:07 a.m. by Chairperson Abelson.

Chairperson Janet Abelson, Crystal Raine, Sue Kuipers, Christopher Finn and Armando Sandoval were present, amounting to a quorum.

2. Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of October 23, 2018.

Mr. Sandoval called for a motion to approve Minutes of the Meeting of October 23, 2018; Mr. Finn seconded the motion. The motion passed with Ayes – 5: Members Abelson, Sandoval, Raine, Finn and Kuipers. Noes: 0. Absent - 1: Member Jones.

3. Roles and Responsibilities of the TSAC.

Recording Secretary May Cooper gave an overview of the roles and responsibilities of the TSAC. The item was discussed.

4. 2018 AB730 Annual Report.

Program Manager I Amanda Cruz gave a presentation on the annual report. The item was discussed.

Mr. Sandoval committed to provide cumulative AB730 statistical reports for the months of September – December of 2018.

5. Staff Comments.

No comments were received.

6. Next Meeting Agenda Items and Date.

The next meeting date is set for Tuesday, February 26, 2019 at 10 a.m. at the East Bay Paratransit building.

The agenda will include a review of the AB730 Monthly Statistics and the 2018 AB730 Annual Report.

7. Election of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.

Chairperson Abelson brought the matter of Election of Officers before the Committee and Recording Secretary May Cooper opened the floor for nominations for Chair of the Transit Security Advisory Committee.

Mr. Sandoval nominated Ms. Raine for Chair. Ms. Raine nominated Mr. Sandoval for Chair. Nominations were closed. Ms. Raine was elected Chair for 2019 by a unanimous roll call vote. Ayes - 5: Members Raine, Sandoval, Kuipers, Abelson and Finn. Noes: 0. Absent - 1: Member Jones.

Ms. Raine shared comments.

Chairperson Raine opened the floor for nominations for Vice Chair of the Transit Security Advisory Committee.

Ms. Kuipers nominated Mr. Sandoval for Vice Chair for 2019. There were no other nominations. Nominations were closed. Mr. Sandoval was elected Vice Chair for 2019.

8. Public Comment.

No comments were received.

9. Adjournment.

The Meeting was adjourned at 10:44 a.m.